# SUMMARY ACTION MINUTES

### MEETING OF REDISTRICTING COMMITTEE ORANGE COUNTY, CALIFORNIA

THURSDAY, March 10, 2011, 2:00 P.M.

BOARD HEARING ROOM, FIRST FLOOR 333 W. Santa Ana Blvd., 10 Civic Center Plaza Santa Ana, California

#### **DON HUGHES** Chairman Fifth District

**MATTHEW HARPER** Committee Member First District

### **DENIS BILODEAU** Committee Member Fourth District

KATHLEEN MORAN Alternate Second District

**DAVID ZENGER** Alternate Fourth District **RICK FRANCIS** Vice Chairman Second District

WHITNEY SECOR Committee Member Third District

**CHRISTY DELP** Alternate First District

LOU BRONSTEIN Alternate Third District

**RAY GRANGOFF** Alternate Fifth District

ATTENDANCE: Committee Members Harper, Francis, Secor, Bilodeau and Hughes Alternate Members Delp, Moran, Zenger and Grangoff

PRESENT COUNTY EXECUTIVE OFFICE COUNTY COUNSEL CLERK OF THE BOARD Rob Richardson, Assistant CEO Thomas Miller, Sr. Deputy Jamie Ross, Deputy

# **ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS**: (Items 1 – 4)

- 1.Presentation on demographicsC.O.PRESENTED BY DEBORAH DIEP
- 2. Demonstration of Maptitude

C.O. PRESENTED BY HOWARD SIMKOWITZ



# SUMMARY ACTION MINUTES

3. Discussion and approval of public Maptitude terminal locations

### C.O. **DISCUSSED**

# <u>Discussion</u> and approval of Public Participation Plan including upcoming meeting schedule <u>APPROVED AS RECOMMENDED</u>

# PUBLIC & COMMITTEE COMMENTS:

### PUBLIC COMMENTS:

Art Montez – Oral Re.: Public participation concerns on redistricting process; concerns over split cities; and ability to break down census tracts to the block level.

Zeke Hernandez – Oral Re.: Questions on how Committee is to go about redistricting process; and concern over Committee's ability to change redistricting plans submitted by the public.

### COMMITTEE COMMENTS:

Chairman Hughes – Oral Re.: Requested a Special Redistricting Committee Meeting be held on Friday, 4/1/11, 2:00 P.M., in the Board Hearing Room.

ADJOURNED: 3:04 P.M.

# \*\*\* KEY \*\*\*

# Left Margin Notes

- 1. Matthew Harper
- 2. Rick Francis
- 3. Whitney Secor
- 4. Denis Bilodeau

- A. Abstained
- X. Excused
- N. No
- CO Committee Order

5. Don Hughes

Above numbers refer to Supervisorial Districts (1st number = Moved by; 2nd number = Seconded by)

DON HUGHES, CHAIRMAN Redistricting Committee

JAMIE ROSS, Deputy Orange County Clerk of the Board