

Clerk of the Board of Supervisors

400 W. Civic Center Dr., 6th Floor Santa Ana, CA 92701 (714) 834-2206 ** FAX (714) 834-4439 Robin.Stieler@ocgov.com

Robin Stieler *Clerk of the Board*

CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Thursday, February 9, 2023 5:00 P.M.

City of Orange Orange City Council Chamber 300 E. Chapman Avenue, Orange CA 92866

I. CALL TO ORDER

David Shawver, Chair, Orange County City Selection Committee, called the meeting to order at 5:01 p.m.

Dan Slater, Orange City Council, led the Pledge of Allegiance

CITIES PRESENT

Aliso Viejo (Richard Hurt)
Anaheim (Ashleigh Aitken)
Brea (Marty Simonoff)
Buena Park (Art Brown)
Cypress (Anne Hertz-Mallari)
Dana Point (Mike Frost)

Fountain Valley (Kim Constantine)

Fullerton (Fred Jung)

Garden Grove (Stephanie Klopfenstein) Huntington Beach (Gracey Van Der Mark)

Irvine (Farrah Khan)

La Habra (Darren Nigsarian) La Palma (Debbie Baker) Laguna Beach (Bob Whalen) Laguna Hills (Dave Wheeler) Laguna Niguel (Sandy Rains) Laguna Woods (Carol Moore) Lake Forest (Doug Cirbo) Mission Viejo (Trish Kelley)

Orange (Dan Slater) Placentia (Ward Smith)

San Clemente (Chris Duncan)

San Juan Capistrano (Howard Hart) Santa Ana (Benjamin Vazquez)

Seal Beach (Joe Kalmick)
Stanton (David Shawver)
Tustin (Austin Lumbard)
Villa Park (Robbie Pitts)

Yorba Linda (Gene Hernandez)

CITIES ABSENT

Costa Mesa Newport Beach Rancho Santa Margarita Westminster

II. APPROVAL OF December 1, 2022 REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

The Committee voted by acclamation to approve the December 1, 2022 minutes.

Motion: Brea 2nd: Yorba Linda Moved: 19/0

Abstain: Anaheim, Garden Grove, Fountain Valley, Huntington Beach, La Palma, San Clemente,

Santa Ana, Villa Park

III. APPOINTMENTS:

A. ORANGE COUNTY WASTE MANAGEMENT COMMISSION

(1) Mayor/Council Member to serve as the 2nd District Representative on the Commission.

Arianna Barrios, Orange City Council, was nominated from the floor. The 2nd District cities voted by acclamation and appointed Arianna Barrios. This appointment began June 1, 2022 and expires May 31, 2025.

B. ORANGE COUNTY PARKS COMMISSION

(1) Mayor/City Council Member to serve as the Coastal City Representative on the Commission.

Erik Weigand, Newport Beach City Council, submitted his candidate statement. The Committee voted by acclamation and appointed Erik Weigand. This appointment is to complete a 4-year term which began June 1, 2020 and expires May 31, 2024.

C. EMERGENCY MEDICAL CARE COMMITTEE

(1) Mayor/Council Member to serve as the City Member Representative on the Committee.

Dan Kalmick, Huntington Beach City Council, submitted his candidate statement. The Committee voted by acclamation and appointed Dan Kalmick. This appointment is complete a two-year term that began July 1, 2022 and expires June 30, 2024.

D. SAN GABRIEL AND LOWER LOS ANGELES RIVERS AND MOUNTAINS CONSERVANCY (RMC)

(1) Mayor/Council Member to serve as Orange County's Representative to the San Gabriel and Lower Los Angeles Rivers and Mountains Conservancy.

Fred Jung, Fullerton City Council submitted his candidate statement. The Committee cities that are members of the League of Cities voted by acclamation and appointed Fred Jung. This is to complete a two-year term that began January 1, 2022 and expires December 31, 2023.

E. ORANGE COUNTY LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION (LAFCO)

(1) Mayor/Council Member to serve as the Orange County City Representative on the Commission.

Tanya Doby, Los Alamitos City Council, Tammy Kim, Irvine City Council, Steve Vargas, Brea City Council and Bruce Whitaker, Fullerton City Council, submitted their candidate statements. Valerie Amezcua, Santa Ana City Council and Howard Hart, San Juan Capistrano City Council, withdrew their applications. After four (4) ballots, no one received the 18 votes required to secure the appointment (After the third ballot, per bylaws, the Committee voted by a 2/3rds majority of cities present to go to a fourth ballot). The item will be continued to the next City Selection Committee meeting. The Committee voted unanimously to only consider the top two candidates at the next meeting. Those candidates are Tammy Kim, Irvine City Council and Bruce Whitaker, Fullerton City Council. This appointment is to complete a four-year term that began July 1, 2022 and expires June 30, 2026.

(1) Mayor/Council Member to serve as the Alternate Orange County City Representative on the Commission.

Jon Dumitru, Orange City Council, Dan Kalmick, Huntington Beach City Council, Janice Lim, Yorba Linda City Council, Carol Moore, Laguna Woods City Council and Steve Vargas, Brea City Council submitted their candidate statement. Bruce Whitaker, Fullerton City Council withdrew his application. After two (2) ballots, Carol Moore, Laguna Woods City Council, received a majority vote (19). This appointment is to complete a four-year term that began July 1, 2020 and expires June 30, 2024.

- IV. OTHER MATTERS FROM COMMITTEE MEMBERS
 None
- V. PUBLIC COMMENTS None
- VI. ADJOURNMENT 5:59 P.M.

/s/			
Jamie Ro	SS		
Secretary	, Orange County	City Selection	Committee