

## Robin Stieler Clerk of the Board

### **Clerk of the Board of Supervisors**

400 W. Civic Center Dr., 6<sup>th</sup> Floor Santa Ana, CA 92701 (714) 834-2206 \*\* FAX (714) 834-4439 Robin.Stieler@ocgov.com

# CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Thursday, May 18, 2023 5:00 P.M.

City of Orange Orange City Council Chamber 300 E. Chapman Avenue, Orange CA 92866

#### I. CALL TO ORDER

David Shawver, Chair, Orange County City Selection Committee, called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

Jamie Ross, City Selection Committee Secretary, led the Pledge of Allegiance

#### **CITIES PRESENT**

Aliso Viejo (Mike Munzing)

Brea (Cecilia Hupp) Buena Park (Art Brown)

Cypress (Anne Hertz-Mallari)
Dana Point (Mike Frost)

Fountain Valley (Patrick Harper) Fullerton (Bruce Whitaker)

Huntington Beach (Gracey Van Der Mark)

Irvine (Farrah Khan) La Palma (Debbie Baker) Laguna Hills (Janine Heft)

Laguna Niguel (Stephanie Oddo)

Laguna Woods (Cynthia Conners)

Lake Forest (Doug Cirbo)
Los Alamitos (Tanya Doby)

Mission Viejo (Wendy Bucknum) Newport Beach (Erik Weigand)

Orange (Dan Slater) Placentia (Ward Smith)

Rancho Santa Margarita (Brad McGirr)

San Clemente (Steve Knoblock) San Juan Capistrano (Sergio Farias)

Seal Beach (Thomas Moore) Stanton (David Shawver) Villa Park (Robbie Pitts)

Yorba Linda (Gene Hernandez)

#### **CITIES ABSENT**

Anaheim

Costa Mesa

Garden Grove

La Habra

Laguna Beach

Santa Ana

Tustin

Westminster

#### II. APPROVAL OF February 9, 2023, REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

The Committee voted by acclamation to approve the February 9, 2023, minutes.

Motion: Yorba Linda 2<sup>nd</sup>: San Clemente Moved: 18/0

Abstain: Newport Beach, San Clemente and Seal Beach

#### III. APPOINTMENTS:

#### A. ORANGE COUNTY CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE

(1) Mayor to serve as Committee Chair to the Orange County City Selection Committee.

David Shawver, Mayor of Stanton, submitted his candidate statement. The Committee voted by acclamation and appointed David Shawver. This appointment begins May 2023 and expires May 2024.

(1) Mayor to serve as Committee Vice Chair to the Orange County City Selection Committee.

Debbie Baker, Mayor of La Palma, was nominated from the floor. The Committee voted by acclamation and appointed Debbie Baker. This appointment begins May 2023 and expires May 2024.

#### B. AIRPORT LAND USE COMMISSION FOR ORANGE COUNTY

(1) Mayor/Council Member to serve as the Airport Area Commissioner on the Commission.

No candidate statements were received, and no one was nominated from the floor. This appointment will be continued to the next City Selection Committee meeting. This appointment is for a four-year term ending May 3, 2027.

#### C. ORANGE COUNTY OPERATIONAL AREA EXECUTIVE BOARD

(1) City Manager to serve as the City Manager Representative on the Board.

Jim Sadro, La Habra City Manager, was nominated by the Orange County City Managers Association. The Committee voted by acclamation and appointed Jim Sadro. This appointment is for a two-year term that began January 1, 2022 and expires December 31, 2023.

(1) City Manager to serve as the City Manager Representative - Alternate on the Board.

Tom Kisela, Orange City Manager, was nominated by the Orange County City Managers Association. The Committee voted by acclamation and appointed Tom Kisela. This appointment is for a two-year term that began January 1, 2022 and expires December 31, 2023.

## D. SAN GABRIEL AND LOWER LOS ANGELES RIVERS AND MOUNTAINS CONSERVANCY (RMC)

**(2) Mayor/Council members** to be nominated as the **Governor's Appointee** on the San Gabriel and Lower Los Angeles Rivers and Mountains Conservancy.

Blair Stewart, Brea City Council, and Joe Kalmick, Seal Beach City Council, submitted their candidate statements. The Committee cities that are members of the League of Cities voted by acclamation and nominated Blair Stewart and Joe Kalmick. This term begins upon successful appointment of one (1) of the nominees by the Governor's Office and expires two years from date of appointment.

#### E. ORANGE COUNTY HUMAN RELATIONS COMMISSION

(1) Individual to serve as the 5<sup>th</sup> District Representative on the Commission.

Heather Chapman, San Juan Capistrano, and Rebecca Gilad, Laguna Woods, submitted their candidate statements. After two (2) ballots, Heather Chapman received a majority vote (7). This appointment is for a two-year term that will begin upon appointment and expire May 2025.

#### F. SENIOR CITIZENS ADVISORY COUNCIL

(1) Individual to serve as 1<sup>st</sup> District Representative 1 on the Council.

Nathan Steele, Seal Beach City Council, submitted his candidate statement. The 1<sup>st</sup> District cities voted by acclamation and appointed Nathan Steele. This appointment is for a two-year term that began January 1, 2023 and expires December 31, 2024.

(1) Individual to serve as 1st District Representative 2 on the Council.

Anne Hertz-Mallari, Cypress City Council, was nominated from the floor (Gracey Van Der Mark was also nominated from the floor but did not receive a 2<sup>nd</sup>). The 1<sup>st</sup> District cities voted by acclamation and appointed Anne Hertz-Mallari. This appointment is for a two-year term that began January 1, 2022 and expires December 31, 2023.

#### G. ORANGE COUNTY HOUSING FINANCE TRUST BOARD OF DIRECTORS

(1) Mayor/Council Member whose city is a current member of the Trust, is not currently on the Board of Directors representing the Central, North or South Service Planning Areas and whose city population is under 60,000, to serve pursuant to the Orange County Housing Finance Trust Joint Powers Agreement and its adopted bylaws.

Mike Frost, Dana Point City Council, submitted his candidate statement. The Trust member cities with a population under 60,000 voted by acclamation and appointed Mike Frost. This seat is for a two-year term beginning date of appointment.

#### H. ORANGE COUNTY LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION (LAFCO)

(1) Mayor/Council Member to serve as the Orange County City Representative on the Commission.

Tammy Kim, Irvine City Council, and Bruce Whitaker, Fullerton City Council, submitted their candidate statements. After one (1) ballot, Bruce Whitaker received a majority vote (21). This appointment is to complete a four-year term that began July 1, 2022, and expires June 30, 2026.

- IV. OTHER MATTERS FROM COMMITTEE MEMBERS
  None
- V. PUBLIC COMMENTS
  None
- VI. ADJOURNMENT 5:31 P.M.



Jamie Ross

Secretary, Orange County City Selection Committee