

# **Robin Stieler** *Clerk of the Board*

# **Clerk of the Board of Supervisors**

400 W. Civic Center Dr., 6<sup>th</sup> Floor Santa Ana, CA 92701 (714) 834-2206 \*\* FAX (714) 834-4439 Robin.Stieler@ocgov.com

# CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Thursday, May 9, 2024 5:00 P.M.

City of Orange Orange City Council Chamber 300 E. Chapman Avenue, Orange CA 92866

#### I. CALL TO ORDER

David Shawver, Chair, Orange County City Selection Committee, called the meeting to order at 5:01 p.m.

Debbie Baker, La Palma City Council, led the Pledge of Allegiance.

#### **CITIES PRESENT**

Aliso Viejo (Mike Munzing)
Anaheim (Ashleigh Aitken)
Brea (Cecilia Hupp)
Buena Park (Joyce Ahn)
Cypress (Scott Minikus)
Dana Point (Jamey Federico)
Fountain Valley (Patrick Harper)

Fullerton (Fred Jung)

Garden Grove (Stephanie Klopfenstein) Huntington Beach (Gracey Van Der Mark)

La Habra (Carrie Surich)
La Palma (Debbie Baker)
Laguna Beach (Sue Kempf)
Laguna Hills (Dave Wheeler)
Laguna Niguel (Kelly Jennings)
Laguna Woods (Noel Hatch)

Lake Forest (Mark Tettemer)
Los Alamitos (Jordan Nefulda)
Mission Viejo (Bob Ruesch)
Newport Beach (Lauren Kleiman)

Orange (Dan Slater)
Placentia (Ward Smith)

Villa Park (Vince Rossini)

Rancho Santa Margarita (Brad McGirr) San Juan Capistrano (Sergio Farias) Santa Ana (Valerie Amezcua) Seal Beach (Schelly Sustarsic) Stanton (David Shawver)

Westminster (Chi Charlie Nguyen) Yorba Linda (Tara Campbell)

#### **CITIES ABSENT**

Costa Mesa Irvine San Clemente Tustin

### II. APPROVAL OF November 2, 2023 REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

The Committee voted by acclamation to approve the November 2, 2023, minutes.

Motion: Santa Ana 2<sup>nd</sup>: Huntington Beach

Moved: 27/0 Abstain: None

#### III. APPOINTMENTS:

#### A. ORANGE COUNTY CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR

(1) Mayor to serve as Committee Chair to the Orange County City Selection Committee.

David Shawver, Mayor of Stanton, submitted his candidate statement. The Committee voted by acclamation and appointed David Shawver. This appointment is for a one-year term that begins upon appointment and expires May 2025.

(1) Mayor to serve as Committee Vice Chair to the Orange County City Selection Committee.

Gracey Van Der Mark, Mayor of Huntington Beach, was nominated from the floor. The Committee voted by acclamation and appointed Gracey Van Der Mark. This appointment is for a one-year term that begins upon appointment and expires May 2025.

#### **B. ORANGE COUNTY HUMAN RELATIONS COMMISSION**

(1) Individual to serve as the 2<sup>nd</sup> District Representative on the Commission.

Adeli Duron, Santa Ana, Jessie Lopez, Santa Ana City Council and Benjamin Vazquez, Santa Ana City Council, submitted their candidate statements. After one (1) ballot, Adeli Duron received a majority vote (2). This appointment is for a two-year term that begins upon appointment and expires May 8, 2026.

#### C. ORANGE COUNTY OLDER ADULTS ADVISORY COMMISSION

(1) Individual to serve as 2<sup>nd</sup> District Representative 2 on the Commission.

No candidate statements were received, and no one was nominated from the floor. This appointment will be continued to the next City Selection Committee meeting. This appointment is for a two-year term that began January 1, 2024 and expires December 31, 2025.

(1) Individual to serve as 3<sup>rd</sup> District Representative 2 on the Commission.

No candidate statements were received, and no one was nominated from the floor. This appointment will be continued to the next City Selection Committee meeting. This appointment is for a two-year term that began January 1, 2024 and expires December 31, 2025.

# (1) Individual to serve as 4<sup>th</sup> District Representative 1 on the Commission.

Art Brown, Buena Park City Council, submitted his candidate statement (Donald Torres' nomination from the floor failed to receive a second). The 4<sup>th</sup> District cities voted by acclamation and appointed Art Brown. This appointment is for a two-year term that began January 1, 2023, and expires December 31, 2024

#### D. HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION

(1) Individual to serve as the City Member 1 on the Commission.

Cecilia Hupp, Brea City Council, submitted her candidate statement. The Committee voted by acclamation and nominated Cecilia Hupp. This appointment nomination is for a two-year term that begins July 1, 2024, and expires June 30, 2026.

(1) Individual to serve as the City Member 2 on the Commission.

Mike Frost, Dana Point City Council, submitted his candidate statement. The Committee voted by acclamation and nominated Mike Frost. This appointment nomination is for a two-year term that begins July 1, 2024 and expires June 30, 2026.

### E. ORANGE COUNTY PARKS COMMISSION

(1) Individual to serve as the Coastal City Representative on the Commission.

John Gabbard, Dana Point City Council, submitted his candidate statement. The Committee voted by acclamation and appointed John Gabbard. This appointment is for a 4-year term which will begin June 1, 2024 and expire May 31, 2028.

(1) Individual to serve as the Inland City Representative on the Commission

Dave Shawver, Stanton City Council, submitted his candidate statement. The Committee voted by acclamation and appointed Dave Shawver. This appointment is for a 4-year term which will begin June 1, 2024 and expire May 31, 2028

#### F. EMERGENCY MEDICAL CARE COMMITTEE

(1) Mayor/Council Member to serve as the City Member Representative on the Committee

Dan Kalmick, Huntington Beach City Council, submitted his candidate statement. The Committee voted by acclamation and appointed Dan Kalmick (Huntington Beach abstained). This appointment is for a two-year term that begins July 1, 2024 and expires June 30, 2026.

## G. ORANGE COUNTY TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY BOARD OF DIRECTORS

(1) Mayor/Council Member to serve as the 3<sup>rd</sup> Supervisorial District Board Member on the Orange County Transportation Authority's Board of Directors, to be appointed on a one city/one vote basis.

Mark Tettemer, Lake Forest City Council, was nominated from the floor. The 3<sup>rd</sup> District cities voted by acclamation and appointed Mark Tettemer. This appointment is for a two-year term that began January 1, 2024 and expire December 31, 2025.

## H. ORANGE COUNTY LOCAL FORMATION COMMISSION (LAFCO)

(1) Mayor/Council Member to serve as the Orange County City Representative on the Commission.

Wendy Bucknum, Mission Viejo City Council, submitted her candidate statement. The Committee voted by acclamation and appointed Wendy Bucknum. This appointment is for a four-year term that begins July 1, 2024 and expires June 30, 2028.

(1) Mayor/Council Member to serve as the Alternate Orange County City Representative on the Commission

Carol Moore, Laguna Woods City Council, submitted her candidate statement. The Committee voted by acclamation and appointed Carol Moore. This appointment is for a four-year term that begins July 1, 2024 and expires June 30, 2028.

- IV. OTHER MATTERS FROM COMMITTEE MEMBERS None
- V. PUBLIC COMMENTS None
- VI. ADJOURNMENT 5:31 P.M.

DocuSigned by:
Jamie Ross
79CB3FA520D5430

Jamie Ross

Secretary, Orange County City Selection Committee