

Clerk of the Board of Supervisors

400 W. Civic Center Dr., 6th Floor Santa Ana, CA 92701 (714) 834-2206 ** FAX (714) 834-4439 Robin.Stieler@ocgov.com

Robin Stieler *Clerk of the Board*

CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

Thursday, April 3, 2025
5:00 P.M.
City of Tustin Library
Multipurpose Room
345 East Main Street, Tustin, CA 92780

I. CALL TO ORDER

David Shawver, Chair, Orange County City Selection Committee, called the meeting to order at 5:04 p.m.

Pat Burns, Huntington Beach City Council, led the Pledge of Allegiance.

CITIES PRESENT

Brea (Blair Stewart)
Buena Park (Joyce Ahn)
Costa Mesa (John Stephens)
Cypress (Leo Medrano)
Fountain Valley (Jim Cunneen)

Fullerton (Fred Jung)

Garden Grove (Joe DoVinh) Huntington Beach (Pat Burns)

Irvine (Larry Agran) La Habra (Rose Espinoza) Laguna Niguel (Gene Johns) Laguna Woods (Shari Horne) Los Alamitos (Gary Loe) Mission Viejo (Bob Ruesch) Newport Beach (Michelle Barto)

Orange (Dan Slater)

San Clemente (Steve Knoblock)
Santa Ana (Valerie Amezcua)
Seal Beach (Lisa Landau)
Stanton (David Shawver)
Tustin (Austin Lumbard)
Villa Park (Nicol Jones)
Yorba Linda (Janice Lim)

CITIES ABSENT

Aliso Viejo

Anaheim

Dana Point

La Palma

Laguna Beach

Laguna Hills

Lake Forest

Placentia

Rancho Santa Margarita

San Juan Capistrano

Westminster

II. APPOINTMENTS:

A. ORANGE COUNTY TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY BOARD OF DIRECTORS

(1) Mayor/Council Member to serve as the 2nd Supervisorial District Board Member on the Orange County Transportation Authority's Board of Directors, to be appointed on a One City/One Vote basis.

Lee Fink, Tustin City Council and Kathy Tavoularis, Orange City Council, submitted their candidate statement. After one ballot, Kathy Tavoularis received a majority vote (3). This appointment is to complete a two-year term that began January 1, 2025 and expires December 31, 2026.

B. CALIFORNIA COASTAL COMMISSION

At least two (2) Mayors or City Council Members Pursuant to Public Resources Code Section 30301.2, the California Senate Rules Committee is soliciting nominations for an appointment to the **California Coastal Commission**.

The Committee approved unanimously to submit top two vote recipients:

Montion: Santa Ana Second: Fullerton

Noah Blom, Newport Beach City Council, Steve Knoblock, San Clemente City Council and Zhen Wu, San Clemente City Council submitted their candidate statement. Lisa Landau, Seal Beach City Council was nominated from the floor. After one ballot, Noah Blom and Steve Knoblock received the most votes.

- III. OTHER MATTERS FROM COMMITTEE MEMBERS None
- IV. PUBLIC COMMENTS None
- V. ADJOURNMENT 5:35 P.M.

/s/		
amie Ross		

Secretary, Orange County City Selection Committee