

# **Clerk of the Board of Supervisors**

400 W. Civic Center Dr., 6<sup>th</sup> Floor Santa Ana, CA 92701 (714) 834-2206 \*\* FAX (714) 834-4439 Robin.Stieler@ocgov.com

**Robin Stieler** *Clerk of the Board* 

# CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Thursday, May 8, 2025 5:00 P.M.

City of Orange Orange City Council Chamber 300 E. Chapman Avenue, Orange CA 92866

### I. CALL TO ORDER

David Shawver, Chair, Orange County City Selection Committee, called the meeting to order at 5:06 p.m.

Pat Burns, Huntington Beach City Council, led the Pledge of Allegiance.

#### **CITIES PRESENT**

Anaheim (Ashleigh Aitken)
Buena Park (Connor Traut)
Brea (Cecilia Hupp)
Cypress (David Burke)
Dana Point (John Gabbard)
Fountain Valley (Ted Bui)
Fullerton (Fred Jung)
Garden Grove (Stephanie Klopfenstein)
Huntington Beach (Pat Burns)

La Habra (Rose Espinoza) La Palma (Vikesh Patel) Laguna Niguel (Ray Gennawey) Laguna Woods (Shari Horne)

Irvine (Larry Agran)

CITIES ABSENT
Aliso Viejo
Costa Mesa
Laguna Beach
Laguna Hills
Lake Forest
Newport Beach
Rancho Santa M

Rancho Santa Margarita

San Clemente Seal Beach Westminster Los Alamitos (Shelley Hasselbrink)
Mission Viejo (Bob Ruesch)
Orange (Dan Slater)
Placentia (Chad Wanke)
San Juan Capistrano (John Taylor)
Santa Ana (Thai Viet Phan)
Stanton (David Shawver)
Tustin (Austin Lumbard)
Villa Park (Nicol Jones)
Yorba Linda (Janice Lim)

## II. APPROVAL OF November 14, 2024 REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

The Committee voted by acclamation to approve the November 14, 2024, minutes.

Motion: Fullerton

2<sup>nd</sup>: Brea

Moved: 21/0 (La Habra and Placentia absent for this vote)

Abstain: Dana Point

## **APPROVAL OF April 3, 2025 REGULAR MEETING MINUTES**

The Committee voted by acclamation to approve the April 3, 2025, minutes.

Motion: Fullerton 2<sup>nd</sup>: Anaheim

Moved: 21/0 (La Habra and Placentia absent for this vote)

Abstain: Dana Point

#### III. APPOINTMENTS:

#### A. ORANGE COUNTY CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR

(1) Mayor to serve as Committee Chair to the Orange County City Selection Committee.

David Shawver, Mayor of Stanton was nominated from the floor. The Committee voted by acclamation and appointed David Shawver. This appointment is for a one-year term that begins upon appointment.

**1) Mayor** to serve as **Committee Vice Chair** to the Orange County City Selection Committee.

Pat Burns, Mayor of Huntington Beach was nominated from the floor. The Committee voted by acclamation and appointed Pat Burns. This appointment is for a one-year term that begins upon appointment.

#### B. ORANGE COUNTY HOUSING FINANCE TRUST BOARD OF DIRECTORS

• (1) Mayor/Council Member whose city is a current member of the Trust, is not currently on the Board of Directors representing the Central, North or South Service Planning Areas and whose city population is under 60,000.

Mike Frost, Dana Point City Council was nominated from the floor. The Trust Member cities whose population is under 60,000 voted by acclamation and appointed Mike Frost. This appointment is for a two-year term that begins upon appointment.

#### C. ORANGE COUNTY OLDER ADULTS ADVISORY COMMISSION

(1) Individual to serve as 2<sup>nd</sup> District Representative 2 on the Commission.

No candidate statements were received, and no one was nominated from the floor. This appointment will be continued to the next City Selection Committee meeting. This appointment is for a two-year term that began January 1, 2024 and expires December 31, 2025.

(1) Individual to serve as 4<sup>th</sup> District Representative 1 on the Commission.

Kristen Maahs, Anaheim City Council was nominated from the floor. The 4<sup>th</sup> District cities voted by acclamation and appointed Kristen Maahs. This appointment is for a two-year term that began January 1, 2025 and expires December 31, 2026.

#### D. ORANGE COUNTY WASTE MANAGEMENT COMMISSION

(1) Mayor/Council Member to serve as the Elected Official At-Large Representative on the Commission

David Shawver, Stanton City Council submitted his candidate statement. The Committee voted by acclamation and appointed David Shawver. This appointment if for a three-year term beginning June 1, 2025 and expires May 31, 2028.

(1) Mayor/Council Member to serve as the 1<sup>st</sup> District Representative on the Commission

Ted Bui, Fountain Valley City Council submitted his candidate statement. The First District cities voted by acclamation and appointed Ted Bui. This appointment if for a three-year term beginning June 1, 2025 and expires May 31, 2028.

(1) Mayor/Council Member to serve as the 2<sup>nd</sup> District Representative on the Commission

No candidate statements were received, and no one was nominated from the floor. This appointment will be continued to the next City Selection Committee meeting. This appointment if for a three-year term beginning June 1, 2025 and expires May 31, 2028.

(1) Mayor/Council Member to serve as the 3<sup>rd</sup> District Representative on the Commission

Janice Lim, Yorba Linda City Council was nominated from the floor. The Third District cities voted by acclamation and appointed Janice Lim. This appointment if for a three-year term beginning June 1, 2025 and expires May 31, 2028.

(1) Mayor/Council Member to serve as the 4<sup>th</sup> District Representative on the Commission

Christine Marick, Brea City Council submitted her candidate statement. The Fourth District cities voted by acclamation and appointed Christine Marick. This appointment is for a three-year term beginning June 1, 2025 and expires May 31, 2028.

(1) Mayor/Council Member to serve as the 5<sup>th</sup> District Representative on the Commission

John Taylor, San Juan Capistrano City Council submitted his candidate statement. The 5<sup>th</sup> District cities did not have a quorum of the members present. The item will be continued to the next City Selection Committee meeting.

#### E. ORANGE COUNTY TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY

(1) Mayor/Council Member to serve as the 3<sup>rd</sup> Supervisorial District Board Member on the Orange County Transportation Authority's Board of Directors, to be appointed on a population weighted vote basis

William Go, Irvine City Council was nominated from the floor. The Third District cities voted by acclamation and appointed William Go. This appointment is to complete a two-year term that began January 1, 2025 and expires December 31, 2026.

#### F. AIRPORT LAND USE COMMISSION

(1) Mayor/Council Member to serve as the At Large Commissioner on the Commission

Ted Bui, Fountain Valley City Council and Shelley Hasselbrink, Los Alamitos City Council submitted their candidate statement. After one ballot, Shelley Hasselbrink received a majority vote (18). This appointment is for a four-year term that began May 6, 2025 and expires May 7, 2029.

## **G. EMERGENCY MEDICAL CARE COMMITTEE**

(1) Mayor/Council Member to serve as the City Member Representative on the Committee

Blair Stewart, Brea City Council submitted his candidate statement. The Committee voted by acclamation and appointed Blair Stewart. This appointment is to complete a two-year term that began July 1, 2024 and expires June 30, 2026.

# IV. OTHER MATTERS FROM COMMITTEE MEMBERS - None

# V. PUBLIC COMMENTS

Connor Medina, League of Cities – announced quarterly division meeting in Irvine on 6/12/25.

# VI. ADJOURNMENT – 5:45 P.M.

/s/			

Jamie Ross

Secretary, Orange County City Selection Committee