Select a language:

2011 Archive Redistricting

New Supervisorial Districts - Effective October 6, 2011

Click on the geographic area listed below for the new Supervisorial District map.

What is Redistricting?

Redistricting is the process of drawing new boundary lines for public offices that are elected by district, such as the Board of Supervisors. One of the goals of redistricting is that the districts be “nearly equal in population.” Information gathered through the 2010 U.S. Census is essential to the redistricting process.

What Law Governs Redistricting?

The basic state legal requirements for the redistricting of Supervisorial districts are found in the California Election Code, Section 21500-21506. California Election Code Section 21500 reads:

“Following each decennial federal census, and using that census as a basis, the board shall adjust the boundaries of any or all of the supervisorial districts of the county so that the districts shall be as nearly equal in population as may be and shall comply with the applicable provisions of Section 1973 of Title 42 of the United States Code, as amended. In establishing the boundaries of the districts the board may give consideration to the following factors: (a) topography, (b) geography, (c) cohesiveness, contiguity, integrity, and compactness of territory, and (d) community of interests of the districts.”

Other laws may also apply to redistricting.

The Process

The County of Orange Board of Supervisors has appointed a five person committee to guide the redistricting process and bring back to the Board a recommended Decennial Redistricting Plan for consideration and possible adoption.

Members of the Committee are:

Supervisorial District Committee Member Alternate
District 1 - Office of Supervisor Janet Nguyen Matt Harper Christy Delp
District 2 - Office of Supervisor John M. W. Moorlach Rick Francis (Vice-Chairman) Kathy Moran
District 3 - Office of Supervisor Bill Campbell Whitney Secor Lou Bronstein
District 4 - Office of Supervisor Shawn Nelson Denis Bilodeau David Zenger
District 5 - Office of Supervisor Patricia Bates Don Hughes (Chairman) Ray Grangoff

The Committee’s Regular Meetings will be held on the second Thursday of each month at 2 p.m. in the Board Hearing Room of the County Hall of Administration. Additional meetings may be called as necessary to complete the work of the Committee. Meetings of the Committee will be subject to the Brown Act and agendas will be posted prior to the meetings.

Redistricting Committee Update The Redistricting Committee will not meet on July 7, 2011. The Committee has adopted a Public Participation Plan to inform the public concerning the work of the Committee and to encourage public participation.


REMINDER!The deadline to submit a Redistricting proposal has passed. All of the Census information will remain on the Redistricting Demographic Submittal Kit tab on the County's Redistricting webpage in order to facilitate continuing public review and participation in the redistricting process.

Current Redistricting Timeline.

Census Data

All 2010 Census data for Orange County to enable the public to participate in the Redistricting process can be found on the Maps and Resources tab and the Redistricting Demographic Submittal Kit tab of this website. By law, Census data must be provided to states no later than April 1, 2011. The U.S. Census Bureau’s Guide to Census 2010 Redistricting Data can be found at

Redistricting Resources

Contact Us

For more information about the County's Redistricting efforts, please contact:

Carolyn McInerney

Rob Richardson